Search form

Sheridan's new animation programs drawing industry crits

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sheridan's new animation programs drawing industry crits

This article's being kicked around. :S Doubt it'll have much impact on Sheridan's attendance, but good luck to all the students involved anyway.

Frankly, I'm glad to hear that professionals with experience and a Master's degree are in short supply, and that they'd be a boon to any college faculty. I'm working on an MFA right now, and I've been working in the field for over 18 years.

I've had the head of an animation program tell me that once my degree is complete I should have no trouble finding a full-time teaching job due to my years of experience. Let's hope she's right :D

Yep, and TEACHING animation is about as secure a job as you'll find in the animation business to boot!
I will say that for most of my tenure as a teacher, I found the job to be very rewarding. I started it at a time when I was really feeling down about the whole animation business and was actively seeking to move either away from it or laterally to other kinds of positions.
Teaching gave me a rekindled passion and sense of purpose for the field again, and I'd reccomend it to anyone with years of experience under their belt who might be feeling a bit jaded.
The industry needs the older hands passing on the word and the way to the youngun's anyways.

If holding a degree gives an experienced pro the cachet to land a better teaching job, so be it--but that's really about the only value I can see in holding a degree.

"We all grow older, we do not have to grow up"--Archie Goodwin ( 1937-1998)

Teaching gave me a rekindled passion and sense of purpose for the field again, and I'd recommend it to anyone with years of experience under their belt who might be feeling a bit jaded.

If holding a degree gives an experienced pro the cachet to land a better teaching job, so be it--but that's really about the only value I can see in holding a degree.