Search form

Any professionals willing to give an ambitious animator some advice?

87 posts / 0 new
Last post
Any professionals willing to give an ambitious animator some advice?

Hi all! After having blundered around trying to settle on what career I'm going to go for I have settled on animation. I've always had a strong desire to create animation and be involved in it, but I have been clueless as to how to go about learning.

Anyhoo, I realise now that there is no such thing as the 'right' or 'wrong' way to go about learning something new, but I know that setting of on the right foot and learning things in a natural progression will bring about better results faster.

If I were a complete beginner (have had some experience in related areas) what things would you advise me to begin learning? should I start of doing life drawing studies? should I people watch and make notes? should I read books on acting? try to think of how you would have done it had you the chance to 'turn back the clock'.

Thanks a lot guys/gals, I would really appreciate any help that I get from you

Both Paul and myself love drawing, for pleasure and as a means to visualise the process of animated film-making. At a personal level It is a great asset for me to be able to externalise my thought processes. I think on this everyone is agreed.

Just to be clear, we we have taken issue with is the idea being put forward of the lack of traditional skills being a hindrance to modern animation career success. In my experience this is not the case. People are hired for their output and not the process involved in its creation. Everyone works differently, and I know plenty of animators who can successfully deliver shot work of the highest standard without having to draw a single thumbnail.

I hope this goes a way to explicate our position on the matter.
Thanks
K

[QUOTE=Larry L.]Huh, didn't know there were "GENERATIONS" of animators.