Search form

Question about preparing a 2D pitch (TV show)

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Question about preparing a 2D pitch (TV show)

I am a strip cartoonist by trade, and am writing/developing an animated cartoon to pitch to a local producer. My problem is I really don't have any true animation experience (besides Intro to 2D Animation back in art school), but I understand it's concepts and am able to draw all of the characters and backgrounds at a professional level. I'm not planning on becoming a full-time animator, but rather create/mastermind the show and get it animated via this producer's studio.

My question is regarding the pitch. Is it best if I simply outline the show and show examples of still frames in slide form, and not animate much (maybe a flash presentation with minimal movement, but voices and scene changes intact).. or is it better to pay a professional animator to produce a true slick sample?

Any professional advice would be great. Thanks a lot and this seems like a good forum (this is my first post). :D

hi macleod, and welcome to the forum =)

the others on here will be able to answer you waaaay better than me, but i thought i'd share my thoughts. pitching is a tricky game, depending on who you're pitching. if this guy is a typical exec, then he wont be able to envision anything that isnt laid out concretely in front of him. and this works both positively and negatively.

if you spend the time and money to get a slick animated 'teaser', you run the risk of him saying, "hmm.. does it have to be a rabbit?", or "he's blue.. i hate blue'. so at the pitch stage, you might want to leave yourself a little open to being able to modify the show idea based on what feedback you get from the producer.

on the other hand, he needs enough information about the character and the world to see its potential. these days, everyone is looking for the next spongebob. they want a strong character with franchise possibilities.