Search form

2d to 3d?

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
2d to 3d?

is there a software where i can draw a 2d figure and make it 3d?
Sorry, i really lack talent when it comes to modellind so i was hoping i could put my drawing skills to work.

2D to 3D

Maybe I can help? But I need to know what software you have been using. I am a commercial animator and Designer for the Aircraft industry. I have used Autocad for my 3D models and 3D Studio max for other models. I do use that photo program that makes 3D models from photos. It works pretty good, and I get great texture maps. Its Called Photo Modeler. But I really enjoy AutoCad the best for Modeling. If I can help let me know? :)

Photo Modeler seems very powerful! There are cheaper tools like Real2Virtual or ArBa3d but I don't know more... :rolleyes:

you really think that's possible?

you can of course make a bumpmap or cutout like thing and try to work with it.

actually, there's some really interesting software being used here at the mouse house that was developed for Glen Keane that does something similar to what you're wanting. However, that's pretty proprietary and not available for average joes. I do know there was a software that boasted being able to take photos and make 3d objects from images, though I doubt that it was really what they said it was. Can't remember the name of that one.

Honestly, if you just want to animate there's tons of models built and rigged online for download if you want to practice just animating.

My suggestion would be to learn to model. Even if you don't plan on being a modeler, the skill is good to know.