Search form

How do animators draw any cartoon character that doesn't exist?

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
How do animators draw any cartoon character that doesn't exist?

What I mean is, ex. Fred Flinstone.
How did animators learn to draw Fred or how do they draw any cartoon character that doesn't exist?
(Do they look at another cartoon character as an example on a piece of paper or think up a character in their minds?)
I'm a female computer/network techie by trade but can draw some things.
I can draw Dexter, Angelica, Arnold, etc.
The only way I can draw these characters is to have a picture of them on a piece of paper next to me.
Do most animators draw from thinking about it or do they have a picture of what they want on a piece of paper?
I'm just frustrated because I'm trying to come up with a short animated piece.

Here is another example, I have a piece in mind that will have celebrities faces but cartoon bodies.
I'm having trouble drawing the clothes.
Is it cheating if I look in one of the three how to draw cartoon books and draw one of those on a piece of paper.
Here I go again.
Ex., I want to use Sylvester Stallone's face with a cartoon body.
I know what kind of outfit I want him to have in my mind but can't draw it just by thinking about it.
So, I decide to look through a how to draw cartoons book and look for mens clothing.
I find what I need and draw my version of the clothing.
Please tell me what percentage of professionals and non-pros do this?
What about this?
How many people use existing clipart in their flash cartoons?
I'm just wondering if anyone thinks this is cheating.

Most of those that have been animating for a while come up with their own concepts and have a background in art or graphic design.

I think most of us as children or during the learning process probably copied other's work, but it really isn't very ethical to use someone else creativity and call it your own.